SMTP Users

SMTP Users are username and password combinations that are used to authenticate when your email client connects to our SMTP servers.

You manage SMTP Users from your account dashboard's 'Settings > SMTP Users' page:

SMTP_Users.png

There is no limit on the number of SMTP Users that you add to your account and it is a great way to keep separation for different senders or setups. View our "When to Set Up Multiple SMTP Users" article for more information. For full separation of users, we recommend the Subaccount feature.

For SMTP Users, you set a customized username, password and optional description. Further specific settings are controlled in each SMTP User's settings which include:

  • Unsubscribe Footer: Add an Unsubscribe Footer to your emails - suppression management is handled on your account's 'Reports > Suppressions' page.
  • Tracking & Status: Enable Open Tracking, Click Tracking or enable/disable the SMTP User.
  • Advanced: Enable Email Archiving for the SMTP User, enable the Email Auditing feature to have BCC copies of emails sent to designated email addresses or enable Bounce Notifications which can be sent back to the original sender or a designated email address.

SMTP_User_specific.png

 

If your software does not allow entering a username and password for authentication, please view the alternative authentication options we offer (IP Authentication and Address Authentication).

If you have questions regarding SMTP Users or any other part of the SMTP2GO service, please reach out to our award-winning support team for assistance.

Was this article helpful?

...