Subaccounts are primarily designed for agencies and resellers with different customers of their own, who wish to keep their customers' data completely separate from each other. The account that creates and manages subaccounts is called the master account. The master account sets a monthly email limit for each subaccount, and any email usage by a subaccount simply gets assigned to the master account for billing purposes.
Creating a Subaccount
- Navigate to "Settings > Subaccounts", then click "Add subaccount".
- Click "Add subaccount" on the right side of the screen (see example below):
- Add in the required fields:
- Email address - the contact email for this subaccount. A verification email will be sent and the recipient will need to click the verification link and set their name and password. Each subaccount will be able to add additional users themselves, if so desired.
- Name - the name that will appear on your Subaccounts page, and will only be seen by you.
- Email limit - the monthly email limit. Each subaccount can have its limit set up to (and including) the master account's monthly email limit.
- Verification - this is to verify that your subaccount will comply with our Terms of Service.
- Click "Add subaccount" to create the new subaccount.
Logging in to a subaccount
It is helpful to be able to easily access the settings and statistics for each subaccount. You can log in to any subaccount by clicking the "Log in as" button for any subaccount, or by selecting the drop down arrow on the far right of the subaccount row and selecting "Log in as subaccount".
Editing a subaccount
You can edit the main details of a subaccount at any time by choosing the "Edit details" option in the drop down list (as seen above).
Resending a subaccount invite
If your subaccount has not activated their account within 24 hours, or they have lost their verification email, you can resend the invitation email by selecting the "Resend invite" option from the drop down (see image above).
Resetting a subaccount password
There is also an option to send a "Password reset email" in the drop down list. This will generate a single use password reset for the email address associated with the subaccount.
Closing a subaccount
A subaccount can be closed as well as re-opened by the master account. Select the arrow icon on the subaccount’s right-hand side to locate the “Close Subaccount” option. A closed subaccount can optionally also be reactivated as a standalone account by signing into the closed subaccount’s dashboard and clicking the “Renew My Account” button.
More Subaccount Detail
Generally, subaccounts behave the same as ordinary SMTP2GO accounts. There are some exceptions to this as outlined below.
A subaccount cannot go over its email allowance — after a subaccount has reached its limit, any attempts to send emails are rejected, rather than queued. You can change a subaccount's quota at any time. We send email alerts to the master account when a subaccount is nearing its limit.
Subaccounts don't have access to billing or paid features, such as adding their own dedicated IPs and email archiving.