Activity Storage Duration

Email activity displayed on the "Reports > Activity" page (also accessible via the API) is stored for 30 days by default for accounts on paid plans. You can choose to extend this time period for an extra fee with the extended duration options of:

  • 60 days
  • 120 days
  • 1 year
  • 2 years

Increasing the time your activity is stored will allow you to maintain a detailed record of your email sending for longer which is great for security, compliance and data protection.

How to change the storage duration
To change your storage duration, navigate to the "Settings > Sending Options > Activity Duration" section and use the slider to select a duration that suits your needs, then click the "Save Changes" button. From that point moving forward, emails will be stored and accessible for the new duration. 

Activity Duration.png


Pricing
Pricing for the duration options is based on your current email plan and is displayed for your current plan in the Activity Duration section when using the slider.

Billing

Monthly subscriptions - if you enable or increase the storage duration within the monthly period, you will be charged a pro rata amount proportional to the number of days to your next billing date.

Annual subscriptions - if you enable or increase the storage duration within the annual period, you will be billed for the remaining time. E.g. if you are 6 months in you will be billed upfront for the remaining 6 months. 

If you have an extended duration enabled and upgrade to a higher volume plan, the new plan's duration rate will be charged with the upgrade. 

If your subscription is currently via our old payment processor you won't have access to this feature. To switch to our new payment processor to gain access, please see our "Switch Payment Processors" article. 

Email duration expiry
Once the expiry date for an email is met, you will no longer see the email/activity data (via the dashboard or API) and the data will be scheduled for deletion.

If you move from a lower duration to a higher duration (e.g. 60 days to 120 days), emails sent up to that point will be stored for the original period (e.g. 60 days) before being scheduled for deletion and emails sent after the change will be stored for the new duration (e.g 120 days) before being scheduled for deletion. The same occurs if you decrease the duration, emails up to that point will be stored for the original duration and emails sent after the change will be stored for the new duration. 

 

Further notes:

  • If a Master account adjusts the storage duration, the Subaccounts will reflect the same duration.
  • The Free Plan is limited to 5 days of activity data and cannot be extended.
  • The Email Archiving feature is available if you wish to store email content, attachments and delivery details for 1-5 years. 


If you have questions in regard to extending your Activity storage duration or any other part of the SMTP2GO service, please reach out to our award-winning support team for assistance. 

Was this article helpful?

...