Email archiving is an optional feature which allows you to store the full content of emails, along with delivery records. Attachments are also stored. Email content is fully searchable, and emails can be viewed and downloaded from within the SMTP2GO App (on the Reports > Archives page for customers with archiving enabled). This is also a useful tool for being able to visualize exactly how outgoing emails appear.
Each archived email is charged at one of the following 'per-email' rates, depending on the length of storage time you require. Any charges incurred are added to your account and billed at the end of your billing month. Archived emails are stored in either the USA or in Europe depending on your account. This is determined by the location from which you created your SMTP2GO account, however you can change your storage region by contacting us if required. For storage, we make use of Google's Cloud Platform, including Google BigQuery and Google Cloud Storage. This means that you can potentially store vast amounts of data, with fast access.
Emails can be archived for a period of 1 to 5 years. The charge per archived email is a one-off charge.
Archiving rates (one-off charge per email)
1 year: $0.0005
2 years: $0.0008
3 years: $0.0010
4 years: $0.0012
5 years: $0.0014
Archiving can be enabled for an SMTP user, Authenticated IP Address, or API key. For example, to enable email archiving for an SMTP user, look for the 'Advanced' tab when editing that user.
From the Reports > Archives page, full text searching can be conducted on the text & HTML body of an email, as well as an email's subject, sender email address and recipient email addresses. Archived emails will appear a few minutes after being sent.
Adjusting Your Archiving Duration
If you wish to increase the length of time that your emails are archived, this can be done from the Settings > Sending Options page. You'll need to choose if you'd like your existing emails to have their archive duration increased. If so, you just need to pay the difference between the storage cost of your new duration versus your old duration (we'll advise you how much this is during the upgrade process). If you decrease the length of time your emails are archived, the new (shorter) duration will only apply to emails that are archived from that point in time onwards.